Liebling + Lobster = Liebster Award!

Okay, I’m relatively new to blogging, and hadn’t even heard of this until Kristin Wagner nominated me for it—for ‘excellent resources and support for fellow writers’! Thanks, Kristin!

After I ran through the list of things I would love to win (a trip to Peru; a visit from one of those home-improvement shows to fix what we lovingly refer to as our “yard” but which is really a recovering construction site; a live-in housekeeper and cook who will also teach my children fluent Spanish), I forced myself to sit back down and do a little research.

So, the Liebster Award is pretty cool, not the least because it is half German (lieb = love) and half surfer. Bloggers nominate other bloggers, who are free to decline the nomination, and who then do nothing except miss out on free advertising, so really what happens, is most bloggers accept. They then win (and I was a little breathless just thinking about it): the chance to answer some questions and nominate five other bloggers!

Yeah, so I loved it, of course! Cuz who needs a trip to Peru? I mean, seriously, it’s coming on to winter down there! Plus my kids really love playing in the mud pits in our yard, and didn’t you hear? As far as houses go, dirty is the new clean.

Here are the rules:

  1. If you are nominated, include a link back to your nominator’s site.
  2. Answer the questions your nominator asks of you.
  3. Nominate five or more other bloggers who have 1000 or less followers.
  4. Ask them eleven* questions of your own.

So, I am going to follow the rules, because I am a rule follower (except when I’m not).

In Which I Link back to My Nominator

Kristin Wagner–I love her blog because she, like me, is a former English teacher who is raising kids and writing! Please check her out!

In Which I Answer the Questions

1. Why do you blog?

Because I am writing a novel, and I heard that having a website is what serious authors do these days.

2. Who is your favorite author, or alternately, what is your favorite book?

Too many to count, but here are a few I return to again and again: The Brothers K by David Duncan; everything by Melina Marchetta and John Green and Billy Collins and David Sedaris and almost everything by Margaret Atwood; The Earthsea Trilogy (except it’s not even a trilogy anymore) by Ursula K. Leguin.

3. What is your favorite childhood memory?

When my sister fell down giving me an underdog on the swing, and she couldn’t get up (because I was swinging right over her, of course!) and I laughed so hard that I peed all over her.

4. Who has been the most influential person in your life and why?

WARNING! MAJOR CORNINESS ALERT!!! Jesus. He is the only truly loving person I’ve ever met and he inspires and empowers me to love others beyond my normal capacity. I tried to think of someone else so that I wouldn’t be too cheesy but honestly, no one else even comes close. He’s even taught me to say, “You’re right” to my husband while I’m still mad! I mean, no one else has even suggested that kind of insanity to me.

5. What would an ideal vacation/get away look like?

Beautiful view + fire place or hot tub or warm weather + good book + family + outdoors + supernatural ability to ‘pause’ my children so I can take a nap.

6. What is one thing you do exceptionally well, but you can’t often talk about it because it would seem like bragging?

I grow very beautiful children. I stopped at two because I didn’t want to make other parents feel bad.

7. What is your favorite food?

Cheese, which I am unfortunately allergic to. Thank you for bringing this up.

8. Have you ever practiced an acceptance speech in the bathroom mirror, and if so what award was it that you “accepted”?

I am very grateful to be able to say “No” to this question.

9. What makes you laugh?

Almost everything. My sense of humor casts a wide net.

10. What is something you would like to see happen in your lifetime?

Like, a magic thing? Or a real thing?

If it’s a magic thing, I would love for the national animal of Scotland, which is of course the unicorn, to actually be discovered, a whole thriving herd of them, on some isolated Highland isle.

If it’s a real thing, I would like Americans to start serving a mandatory stint in an overseas or domestic non-profit that works directly with the poor. I think lots of things would shift globally if US citizens understood that 99% of Americans are the global 1%.

In Which I Nominate Five Bloggers, All of Whom Focus on Writing

  • The Mom Who Runs–for essays, flash fiction, and book reviews.
  • Liz Shriftstellar–for flash fiction, journal reviews, and hard-core advice (like, how not to break copywrite law in your writing).
  • Michelle Taylor–for a visually distinct blog, and for youthful energy.
  • Writing at the Table–for lovely essays about writing and motherhood.
  • Proud Foot Words–for writing advice and book reviews, and for being Australian.

In Which I Ask Eleven Questions

  1. How did you choose the topic of your blog?
  2. Who are your favorite authors?
  3. What is one piece of advice for new authors?
  4. What kinds of things do you like to write?
  5. What does your writing schedule look like?
  6. Where has your writing been published?
  7. Why do you write?
  8. How do you deal with writer’s block?
  9. What’s your writing process?
  10. Do you draft on paper or on a computer? Why?
  11. Tell the truth…had you heard of the Liebster Award before?

 

Thanks so much! I can’t wait to see what happens next!

*the online rules were vague–10 questions? 11 questions?–so for fun I decided to go with 11, as it is my favorite number!

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment