Waking Up White Chapter 4: Talking about My Generation

What were some of the major economic, political, demographic, and pop culture trends from ten years before your birth until age twenty? How did they show up in your life? How do you think they influenced your beliefs?

Trying to draw a direct line between global events and my personal development seemed boring and impossible—until I turned to my trusty friend the Internet and googled “characteristics of gen x”!

Suddenly I could see myself in more than a few of them. Two quotes stood out to me.

“[Gen Xers’] perceptions are shaped by growing up having to take care of themselves early and watching their politicians lie and their parents get laid off.”[1] This described my experience perfectly.

“Generation Xers were children during a time of shifting societal values.”[2] In retrospect, the effects of this really can’t be overstated.

There are tons of resources on the Internet that will list your generation’s characteristics—try it! It’s super fun, sort of like those “What word best describes your personality?” quizzes that bounce around Facebook. Of the dozens of words used to describe the group of people I grew up with, here are the main ways I believe I’m just like the rest of Gen X:

  1. Suspicious of Authority
  • “Latchkey kids,” we grew up unsupervised for vast swaths of time while our parents were at work
  • US culture shifted from “kid-centered” to “adult-centered,” and divorce rates increased
  • We witnessed some scandals that weakened our beliefs in authority, for example Watergate and Clinton’s impeachment hearings
  • The fall of apartheid, communism and the Berlin Wall were wonderful, of course, but these victories were too dang long in coming
  • The AIDS epidemic highlighted that adults had no clue what was going on
  • Seeing Rodney King get beaten, and then the cops get off free and clear, made us even more cynical
  1. Individualistic
  • Again, with our parents at work, we had to take care of ourselves
  • The faltering economy meant we couldn’t trust anyone to help us
  • Women joined the workforce in large numbers, proving to me that a girl could grow up to be self-sufficient
  • As a result of all these factors, we don’t like being told what to do or believe (ask my friends if that can be true about me, hahaha!)
  1. Tolerant
  • Television shows featuring Black families were insanely popular: The Cosby Show, The Fresh Prince of Bel Air, Family Matters
  • Music (alternative, grunge, hip-hop, and rap) shaped us in powerful and lasting ways; our musicians were diverse and thanks to MTV we knew it
  • At the time, Gen X was the most ethnically diverse generation ever
  • As stated before, we grew up in a time of shifting societal values—the sexual revolution, the civil rights movement—and the instigators were our parents! Our formative years were spent living the results of integration and Title IX
  • Over 60 percent of Generation X attended college, and higher education exposed us to diverse cultures, people, experiences, and thinking

Hey! That sounds pretty good! I like being a Gen Xer! Good job us! It would be easy to say, “See! I’m tolerant! I can’t be racist!” In fact, “In the 1990s…Gen Xers were ‘by any measure the least racist of today’s generations’.”[3]

But even as a Gen Xer, even in liberal Seattle, I was plenty naïve. For instance, I had no idea that the crack epidemic of my era affected primarily minorities. I didn’t know that people who are born into poverty tend to stay in poverty, and pass it onto their children. I didn’t know that this inequality mostly impacts people of color. I didn’t know Black children are more likely to be identified as needing special education services than white children. And, while I was deeply disturbed by the Rodney King trial, I chalked it up to “the system can’t be trusted.” I had no idea that some of us could trust it far less than others.

For some other perspectives, please check out Di Brown’s post here and Stephen Matlock’s here. My first blog post in the series can be found here. And, as always, Waking up White by Debby Irving is an amazing resource.

 

[1] “Generational Differences Chart.” West Midland Family Center, West Midland Family Center, http://www.wmfc.org/uploads/GenerationalDifferencesChart.pdf.

[2] “Generation X.” Wikipedia, Wikimedia Foundation, 28 Mar. 2019, en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Generation_X.

[3] “Generation X.” Wikipedia, Wikimedia Foundation, 28 Mar. 2019, en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Generation_X.

*I changed the name of this chapter from “Optimism” because the chapter is about being shaped by generational forces; optimism was the author’s own personal response to events as she grew up.

12 thoughts on “Waking Up White Chapter 4: Talking about My Generation

  1. Interesting parallel: in a later chapter, Irving discusses the fact that her family didn’t discuss race – and she was shocked to discover that every person of color in the room (the question was asked at a seminar) *did discuss it in their homes growing up. Here – you and I, in households that *do discuss the hard stuff.

    Almost as though “when racism is an issue that affects you daily, you discuss it regularly. When hardship, stacked systems, and inequity affect you regularly, you discuss it.” And when your wealth and comfort is built on a foundation of other peoples’ hardship, you make hardship a taboo topic…?

    Like

    • (sorry Dawn – I was somehow missing a ‘reply’ link. this comment was in response to your comment about being sheltered and talking about the hard stuff)

      Liked by 1 person

    • i look forward to that chapter. yeah, we talk about race all the time. but i confess i didn’t think about it much until i became a teacher and had students of color in my classes. there was so much i just didn’t know

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I loved it and thanks for the credit given my generation (Baby Boomers/Hippies) for the sexual revolution and the civil rights movement. It was a difficult time and I was proud to be a voice for civil rights in my racist home and community as were all of my friends. Because of our dabbling in the sexual revolution I have a theory – I think that’s what made me so strict with you, lol. I knew many people of my generation who felt the same. And as horrible has the Rodney King incident was, it was nothing compared to what I saw on tv every night while I was in high school. I watched black people being beaten by cops just for peacefully marching through southern towns. I watched young people being beaten by police officers at the Democratic Convention in Chicago. I saw a governor stand on the steps of a school and tell the nation that his state would NEVER allow black students to go to school with white students. I watched young and frightened black kids having to be protected by the National Guard just to go to school. Every night we watched social injustice played out on little black and white tv’s and it was sickening. It makes a person overly protective and maybe causes you to insulate your child from those issues. In a way, has a mother, I am kind of glad you were naïve about some things. It means you weren’t predisposed to a particular bias or idea about black kids, poor kids or diverse cultures. You were a blank slate to form your own opinions and make your own friendships and not assume every person of color or every person of a particular culture was poor or addicted to something or living with someone who was. You, my darling daughter, have always chosen your friends based on what’s on the inside and not what’s on the outside. It is only by the Grace of God that I saw the injustice of racism because I certainly didn’t learn it from my parents.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Do you feel as if you are almost helpless to effect change? The lessons we’re learning here in this book are valuable–at least to me they are!–and yet I can’t help but think but what do I do?

    Like

    • I feel helpless at a macro level, often. That’s where prayer is so important, for both God’s wisdom and his power to change things. On a personal level, it’s all about relationships, and this is where I feel empowered to fall more in love with people, to listen to them, to SEE them.

      Like

    • Gen X grew up knowing the system was stacked – usually against us. Rather than feeling ‘helpless to effect change’ we are a generation continually affected by change – changing expectations, changing realities. We are the first generation to start careers with no expectation of “50 years and a gold watch.” Our children are activists – because we have raised them to know that things aren’t right, and given them a foundation and the conviction that the system is theirs to take over and make better.

      The hippy notion that the world should be a better place comes from our parents. The recognition that in order to push, your feet must be firmly braced comes from the upheaval of our era. The determination not to let the same happen to our kids comes from the recognition that having *something you can count on is a need – so we make sure it is us. (noted: I don’t have kids. But this is true and typical of my cohort)

      Like

Leave a comment