Two New Works,Two Different Payment Methods

I’m deep in the ugly work of drafting a new novel, and yet, the hard work of submitting shorter pieces months ago is paying off, tiny gifts in time for Christmas!

As always, I’d love it if you checked out my new work (here and here), but I also want to open a window into what’s going on here from a writing perspective. It’s not a big window, not a giant floor-to-ceiling pane of glass. Think of it more like those tiny triangular wing windows from the cars and trucks of my early youth (aka: the magical and wacky 70’s).

First off, I have a humorous essay up on Sammiches and Psych Meds (a name that is a humorous essay in and of itself). I had high hopes for “This Essay is Worth a Thousand Dollars,” which is abundantly clear in the title. Instead of the clearly indicated thousand bucks, I’m trying something new to me: payment only if my essay reaches at least 2,000 views. That feels ab-so-lute-ly wackadoodle to me–where am I going to find two thousand people who want to read this? But I love taking risks, and I’m viewing this as an experiment. I’ll let you know how it goes! Meanwhile, if you love me or, even, if you have minimally functioning limbs, you can help me out by reading and shamelessly promoting this essay on all your social media sites.

Think of it as door-to-door fundraising for adults, except without actual doors.

My second piece went live just today, at Page and Spine. I’ve said before (and I’m just repeating someone else’s wisdom here) that the key is not to submit everywhere you can, but to find a limited number of publications that are a good fit. And I love Page and Spine–I enjoy the poems they publish and like working with their editors, who’ve always given feedback that improved my writing. As for the pay, I made about $.08/word for this poem. (You can do the math.) So if the winter weather has got you down, take a look at “On a Rainy Day, Mexican Hot Chocolate.”

If you want the recipe, you’ll have to read the poem.

Meanwhile, I’m going to muddle through first drafts, revisions, and edits…or not. Maybe I’ll make a mug of steaming cocoa instead.

 

Photo credits: AlejandroLinaresGarcia – Own work, CC BY-SA 3.0, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=6216512
Leave a Reply

