It’s Always the Best Time to Read This Blog: One Way to Generate More Traffic

Earlier this week I got an interesting email from an author friend of mine. She wrote,

I read somewhere that you get more hits if you post at around 8 p.m.  Have you heard anything like that?

Wow. No, I had not. Until now! And it turns out that, by posting whenever I want, usually on Mondays, I’m doing it wrong! Apparently, Friday at 1 p.m. is kind of a perfect time to tell you that Page & Spine published my new poem “Two Short Weeks” today. It’s about the innocence of young love and I’m so happy to see it up!

After you read that, you may want to check out Is There a Best Time or Day to Post My Blog?, and The Best Times to Post on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn & Other Social Media Sites (who writes these titles?). These are two of the sites I read in my rapid, unstructured research this morning. (Note to serious people who are looking for actual advice: You are in the wrong place. I did not analyze the sites for credibility, reliability, or edibility. So do your own research before trying this at home.)

Anyway, Friday at 1 p.m. is a good time for Facebook users, who (apparently) are starting their weekends a little early by spying on their friends from work. And for blogs, just about anytime is good, really, as long as it’s consistent. Which I have been spotty about.

My new experiment and announcement all rolled into one: I’m going to start posting on…wait for it…Fridays at 1:00. Rocket science, right?

I have no idea if this will work, but I can’t see how it will hurt. That’s almost like winning the lotto for us optimists!

If you’ve read other research, or have your own prized and highly guarded metrics for when you post online, I would love to hear!

 

Photo credit: Anders Lagerås – Own work, CC BY-SA 3.0, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=14663354
2 thoughts on “It’s Always the Best Time to Read This Blog: One Way to Generate More Traffic

  1. I loved the poem Dawn! Coincidently – they just did a story last night about the Special Olympics coming to Seattle and how it is the biggest event since the Goodwill Games. And that got me thinking about you, and Ann, an Olympic Russian hopeful and you telling me about his kiss! As a mother, it is always a special thing when your daughter confides in you about a “first” love and kiss. I know you will never forget that kiss but you know what – neither will I. I love you and I am so proud of you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

