No Fear

As you know, something wonderful happened last week: I got an acceptance letter.

This is not, however, even the half of it.  In her follow-up email, the editor said, “I love your writing style.  In my most recent review, I described it as ‘edible’.  I like the flow, the dialogue, the informality, and the humor – it’s compulsively readable.”

Wow!  Edible!  Who doesn’t want that?

This email had me so excited that I promptly read it out loud to the people standing near me at church.

Unfortunately, or fortunately (depending on your level of Zen), the email continued.  I need to revise it “with an eye to strengthening its opinion stance”.

I know, right?  That stopped me in my tracks too.  What?  I can’t do that!  I don’t even know what that means!

But then, I was reminded of words the Lord has given me:

I have called you to write.

And then, listen to this one, spoken by my friend Betty to a whole group of us.  I feel like it is just for me:

You are going through a dynamic change in calling and gifting.  Do not be afraid.  I will not lead you where I have not prepared you.  My intent is to make my name famous through you.  You have already tasted my leading in several ways, but there is much more.  I need people who really do trust me and will allow my love to flow in all circumstances.  I am faithful and true.

Amen, Lord Jesus.  Amen.

So here I go, choosing to believe that I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength – including making his name famous.  Including being a writer.

Including, even, revising an essay.

 

Leave a Reply

