Just Who Do I Think I Am, Anyway?

Do you ever feel like a fraud?

Today I do, just a little bit.

When God told me to quit my job as a teacher and write, I didn’t realize the magnitude of identity shift this would cause.  Now, when people ask me what I do, I say, “Well, I’m a writer.”  Then they ask me what I’ve published.

Uh-oh.

I know that my identity is hidden away in Christ.  When I obey him, then I am doing my job exactly right.  So now, when those feelings of doubt or awkwardness creep in, I don’t have to let them control me.

I have been called to write; I spend hours every day writing; therefore, I am a writer.

The rest is yet to come.

Leave a Reply

